The National Search and Rescue Secretariat SAR Awards have been replaced with the new Emergency Management Exemplary Service Award (EMSA), formally announced on December 22nd, 2017.

Awards will be granted in five categories:

Each year, provincial and territorial and federal government may present awards in each category to deserving individuals or groups.

Nominations for the new awards (federal level, and all provinces/territories), and federal nominations for all categories must be submitted by January 31, 2018 to:

Public Safety Canada
Emergency Management Exemplary Service Award
269 Laurier Avenue West, Room 17B-2500
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0P8

or electronically to:

For more information about the Award, including details of the various categories, please visit the Public Safety Canada EMESA website.

For information on the selection process in a particular province/territory, please contact your provincial or territorial authorities.

For any other questions, please contact