As a result of the 2018 BCSARA election cycle, the following changes will take effect as of the Annual General Meeting (tentatively planned for June 1-3, 2018):


An election will take place for this position vacated in late 2017 by Colin Wiebe who moved to the Municipal Police Agency Rep.  The Candidates are, current Interim Vice-President Trent Blair (Prince George SAR) and current West Kootenay Director, Chris Armstrong (Nelson SAR).  For information about this election check out the 2018 Election Handbook.


Current BCSARA Public Information Officer, Critical Incident Stress Management Program team member, and Former Bulkley Nechako Regional Director, Chris Mushumanski (Nechako Valley SAR) was acclaimed as the BCSARA Secretary.

Chris will take over from Peter Reid (Kimberley SAR).  Peter spent 4 years as our Secretary and we are incredibly appreciative of his service and leadership to the Board and the provincial SAR community.  Peter is a Ground Search Team Leader Instructor as well as a facilitator of the Public Safety Lifeline Leadership program.

Okanagan Similkameen Regional Director

Hamish Readie (Penticton SAR) has served this region for 4 years.  He, and his vast collection of tactical kilts, will be missed as will his passion for SAR.

Replacing Hamish is Colleen Aven (Oliver/Osoyoos SAR), who was acclaimed to the position. Colleen has been involved in SAR for 14 years and is a SAR Manager, Ground Search Team Leader, Rope Rescue Team Leader, Advanced Swiftwater Rescue Technician, Swiftwater Rescue Team Leader and an Organized Avalanche Response Team Leader.

West Kootenay Regional Director

An election will occur in the West Kootenay Region where Chris Armstrong (Nelson SAR) has been serving as Interim Director.  Candidates for election in this region are Gord Ihlen (Castlegar SAR) and Sean Slimmon (Nelson SAR). For information about this election check out the 2018 Election Handbook.

North East Regional Director

Michel Lavallee (North Peace SAR) was acclaimed to the position and will continue as the North East Regional Director

South Island Regional Director

Kyle Van Delft (PEMO SAR) was acclaimed to this position and will continue as the South Island Regional Director.

For details about the 2018 Election Cycle please click here.